Tips for a scrub?

Discussion in 'Dungeons of Dredmor General' started by Thereddic, Sep 5, 2013.

1. Thereddic

Thereddic Member

Hello all! I am new to Dredmor-ing, and after messing around a few attempts, searching through various threads whenever I needed advice, I decided to introduce myself and ask some questions directly.

First off, should I always be pouring all my points into a single skill in the beginning? So far, beyond a point into either Burglary or Archaeology (depending on which I'm using) for extra exp, I always find myself pouring everything I have into one skill for its capstone.

Also, encrusting. what's the deal with it? should I bother looking into it if I'm not carrying around crafting skills? I've read that it has a chance of causing my equipment to break. Is this true? Or is it a situational thing, like the Worst Idea Ever?

Finally: skills. I've been messing around with various skills, trying to find a build that works, but I have yet to get past floor 3 (to be fair, that's usually because I walk into a mysterious portal full of really high level enemies, or forget about a trap or something). Currently rolling with

Necronomeconomics
    Astrology
    Unarmed
    Archaeology/Burglary
    Viking Magic
    Leylines
    Magical Law

I get lvl 2 of the rogue skill and then pump necro for delicious c'thulhu magics. The problem I'm running into is that I'm not really aiming to play as a gish, per se. I mainly want to be a pure caster (because magic tends to mean options in games. also its fun!) Problem is I can't really find any good single target spells beyond Thor's bolt, and it's making it very hard to delve into utility magics when I need so many gish schools. Plus, I need the gish stuff or else I have nothing to defend myself with early game. ANyone have any suggestions? Thanks, and sorry for this thread again. I'm well aware of how annoying these can get.

2. TheKirkUnited

TheKirkUnited Member