Question about Computerings

Discussion in 'Discussions' started by DoDgirl, Nov 4, 2012.

1. DoDgirl

DoDgirl Member

So I was playing Dredmor and I was like "I am not good at Dredmor" and then I was like "How does one get better at Dredmor? By playing Dredmor!" ... But then my computer died. So, I was wondering, since I tend to play light games anyway that don't take much CPU power and GPU power what I should look for? I don't want a top-of-the-line computer that I use only 1% of for 500% the price. Since I've never been one for heavy games anyway it's somewhat wasted on a humble Diggle like me.

Suggestions? I was thinking this little i3 laptop with Intel graphics in it but I am not sure onboard graphics is a good idea. It's only $349 and that is brand new. Then there's the old and used comp in good condition for $300 that's got a dedicated Radeon with a C2D 2.4ghz. that's something like three years old. So. Confused.

Any better suggestions? I can't continue to live without killing mutant carrots for long.

SO SAD RIGHT AFTER MY RETURN TO CIVILIZATION! NOW I AM BEGGING AT A LIBRARY OR ON A FRIEND'S COMPUTER FOR AID! YUMMY GUMMY AID!

OmniaNigrum likes this.
  2. Warlock

Warlock Member

the i3 is not bad for your purposes, and you can get decent computing power for most older games even on it. Try not to go used unless you have to.

OmniaNigrum likes this.
  3. Daynab

Daynab Community Moderator Staff Member

i3 is perfectly fine for what you do, but onboard graphics is generally a bad idea (though this may have changed with the latest nvidia motherboard, I'm not entirely sure. Would have to read up on it.)

I'd look for something with a real GPU though. Are you specifically looking for a laptop?

OmniaNigrum likes this.
  4. DoDgirl

DoDgirl Member