Idea discussions

Discussion in 'Modding' started by dartthedragoon, Jul 28, 2011.

1. I'm new to XML so if anyone knows of a good place to learn it that would be nice, on to mod discussion

One of the ideas i had was to make potions unidentified in the more traditional rogue-like style. I was thinking I could make a copy of a potion with a generic unidentified name and description for every potion, and add a new skill that all characters would have called taste/test potion. When used it would add the effect of the generic potion which would be a weakened form of its real use, and change it to the real thing. I believe the change would have to work by destroying/using the generic potion and creating the real potion that matched it. So i would have 20 or so potions with the same name/description and different effects, and the real potions. As i understand it all items have a id #, so i could have my generic potions be #101-120 and real potions be #121-140, and when test/taste is used, create a item that has an id up 20.

Another idea I wanted to implement was having all characters choose an extra skill from a new pool of choices, that would all be passive and work like traits did in fallout1/2. For those of you who don't know, these traits provided positive and negative effects. IE (+10% crit chance, -30% overall damage),(+20% hit chance when wielding one weapon,-40% chance when wielding a two handed weapon or two weapons)