Useing the Spell System Reference from the mod wiki

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Themaxtr, Jul 9, 2014.

1. Themaxtr

Themaxtr Member

I am new to modding DOD and want to use some of the things i found in this page (http://dredmod.com/wiki/Spell_System_Reference) of the mod wiki but i cant figure out how to use things like <senseWallsFlag> or <polymorph> this is what i tried I was just throwing things together trying to figure things out.

<spellDB>
    <spell name="Sonic Scan" type="targetemptyfloor" icon="sprites/11th.png">
    <polymorph name="Batty" >
    <requirements usetimer="18"/>
    <effect type="spawnitematlocation" itemName="Fez" />
    <description text="Test." />
    </spell>
    </spellDB>

It works if it take out <polymorph name="Batty" > So I'm assuming that I'm not understanding the wiki.
    If anyone can help i would be extremely thankful.

2. Alistaire

Alistaire Member

You have to put anything in the <buff> section of the reference, in a <buff> tag.

<spellDB>
    <spell name="Sonic Scan" type="targetemptyfloor" icon="sprites/11th.png">
    <buff useTimer="1" time="20" stacksize="1" self="1" icon="skills/batty64.png" smallicon="skills/batty32.png">
    <polymorph name="Batty" >
    </buff>
    <requirements usetimer="18"/>
    <effect type="spawnitematlocation" itemName="Fez" />
    <description text="Test." />
    </spell>
    </spellDB>

3. Themaxtr

Themaxtr Member

I tried your code and it still did not work it works if i take out <polymorph name="Batty" > but not if i leave it in.
    I modified the code to make it more clear what I am doing.

<spell name="Sonic Scan" type="self" icon="sprites/11th.png" >
    <buff useTimer="1" time="24" allowstacking="0" stacksize="1" self="1" icon="sprites/11th.png" smallicon="sprites/11th.png">
    <secondarybuff id="0" amount="5"/> <!-- hp -->
    <polymorph name="Batty">
    </buff>
    <description text="This is a test." />
    </spell>

I am getting this error from my XML editor.