Tower Defense games?

Discussion in 'Other Games' started by Essence, Jul 20, 2012.

1. Essence

Essence Will Mod for Digglebucks

I have an admission to make. When I first heard of Tower Defense games, I was like "dafuq? I don' even know." I thought it was a crappy idea.

Then, I played Cursed Treasure: Don't Touch My Gems.

Then, I played Gemcraft (1, 2, and Labrynth).

Then, I played Defend Your Honor.

Then, I played Kingdom Rush. Oh, my God, did I play Kingdom Rush. I played the shit out of Kingdom Rush.

I just started playing Radiant Defense on the Kindle Fire, and I'm liking it a lot.

But by and large, most tower defense games aren't fun enough. They're tactical exercises, but they kind of look like crap and play like yawn and they're just not cool. But, I figure you guys in GLGland are awesome and you probably know a lot of cool things that I don't, so I'm here to ask: what are the best tower defense(ish) games that I haven't played yet? Because for some reason, despite my initial hate, I'm afraid I'm kind of hooked.

BTW, I don't care who you are, Bloons everything sucks balls. Big, hairy Bantha balls.

[​IMG]

2. Mr_Strange

Mr_Strange Member

Vector TD is pretty epic. And it plays in your browser.

Tiny Heroes is a good TD game if you have an i-device.

Master of Defense is a ~5 year-old shareware title, but probably one of the richest TD games.

If you use Chrome, you can play Field Runners (mostly) for free via google play. I wouldn't pay for the full version - but Field Runners 2 is coming out soon...

If you have a PS3 you can play Pixel Junk: Monsters (and get the expansion!) - it's a very slick TD game. I still hold a few world-records on some maps.

Finally, Defense Grid on Steam is a fine, fine game. And hey - if you back the Kickstarter for Defense Grid 2 you get a free copy of it (via Steam) immediately (before the Kickstarter even ends!) - Go check it out! If you like it, you might just even leave your pledge in for DG2...