Struggling, need help, level5

Discussion in 'Dungeons of Dredmor General' started by JonMiller, Apr 10, 2012.

1. JonMiller

JonMiller Member

I have played roguelikes for years, but always with the 'dying is fun' idea. So with Dungeons of Dredmor, I have always gone 'Random going Rogue with Permadeath'. Recently I started playing with builds and trying to go further than level 4.

Now I am on level 5, and I am wondering if I just don't have the equipment or my build is bad? I have almost died 2-3 times, two of the monster zoos I only survived because of using coral wants and potions of replenishment. Note that in both I ended up stuck surrounded by monsters, so maybe it is my fault. I have also used up 2 squid bolts and 1 mass destruction bolt (but I have killed, but not gotten credit for, the level 5 monster zoo).

Build:
    Arch 2 (to get the museum)
    Astro 3 (I had intended to get 4/5 but then stopped)
    Necro 4 (what I have been doing first)
    Arms 1 (for block/absorb later)
    Bsrk 5 (for body paint and killing blow, was awesome early)
    shield 2 (for duck and cover, not really that good, for block/absorb later)
    unarmed 2 (for damage and throw)

I am really hurting right now, almost died for the 3rd or 4th time to an evil chest monster (level 5). I was down to 6 health, if I had missed...

I still have 7 wands (used up a lot of coral), I have lots of arrows still (but less), but don't have so many potions now. Also I have been eating some of my dire sandwiches (to survive the monster zoos).

gloves: pyromancers gauntlets (or battle mittens or artifact (2 fire resist, 1 melee power, 1 burly, 5 block, -2 enemy dodge ) )
    neck: cybertonic amulet (or ankt amulet)
    crossbow: artificat (6 peircing, 1 putre, -1 toxic reist, -1 sag, -1 mana, -1 dodge, 1 savvy, -1 health regen)
    feet: sabatons (really good early find)
    legs: kilt
    belt: belt of iron plates (or artifact (2 peircing damage, 1 block, 1 absorbtion)