I can reproduce this one pretty consistently, so it's quite possibly been fixed in your dev branch already. Lay out a building. Place some modules. Save and exit. Load the save. Use the Modules -> Dismantle Module button to cancel one of the not-yet-built modules. When you hit the Modules button to place more modules, the building's base is no longer shown (whether it would be red or blue). See attached screenshot.