Let me make you some userstyles and userscripts.

Discussion in 'Discussions' started by Daynab, Nov 17, 2012.

1. Daynab

Daynab Community Moderator Staff Member

Hi, so some of you may know but I'm studying in web development/web design (but more coding than design lately). I thought it might be some good side practice for me to do this for people:

-------------------------------------------------
    Basically, Userstyles are custom css files that you can load in your browser to change the look of a site (most easily through the Stylish addon: for Firefox, for Chrome.) Pretty much your own little redesign.

You can browse this site for thousands of examples and more complete redesigns than I wouldn't even attempt to tackle. But what I *can* do for you is change anything you might find annoying about a specific site, or something you'd like to look different, I don't know. Like when someone asked me to remove all images in forum signatures on another forum, for example. Or make a certain site darker so it would be more pleasing on the eyes.
    Lots of possibilities, really.

UserScripts are little custom javascript snippets that also change things about a website but can generally do a lot more than the appearance. They don't even have to be limited to a specific site. For example, a popular one makes all text links automatically change into clickable links.

Easiest way to install those is through the Greasemonkey addon for Firefox and Tampermonkey for Chrome.
    You can browse for some at https://userscripts.org/

As scripts are definitely more complex I can't really say what I can and cannot do, just ask and I'll take a crack at it and tell you if it's possible for me.
    -------------------------------------------------

Anyways. Help me practice/study while helping you (maybe)!

Kazeto and OmniaNigrum like this.
  2. SkyMuffin

SkyMuffin Member

Here's one to try: fix the overflow issues I have on the CNN website.

http://www.cnn.com/

dammit cnn