Help out a total Noob please

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Fader48080, Jan 29, 2014.

1. Fader48080

Fader48080 Member

So I have never made a mod before. and by this I mean I have literally never made a mod for any game ever. However I have been interested in the process for quite some time and have heared this is a great game got get your feet wet on.

from what I have heard this game is super easy to mod, and fairly difficult to crash by modding. However I looked for a how to guide on here and couldn't find one. So any help would be apprecated, I honestly don't even know how to get started. If anyone looking for a chance to mentor someone who is really just looking for a fun way to improve their over all computer skills here is your call to action.

OmniaNigrum likes this.
  2. Daynab

Daynab Community Moderator Staff Member

There are a number of good references and tutorials here: http://dredmod.com/wiki/Main_Page
    Beyond that, I suggest downloading a couple mods that do what you want to do (for example, a skill), and see how they are made.

For the record I'd probably say this is somewhere in the middle of the modding accessibility ladder.

OmniaNigrum likes this.
  3. bluehinter

bluehinter Member

As Daynab said, your two best resources are the Dredmod Wiki and looking at other mods to see what they've done. Oh, and running the game in Debug Mode.

Additionally, I highly recommend bookmarking the visual spell templates and other quick references thread on this site and downloading the Mod XML validator. Both are invaluable tools, especially if you aren't a natural born XML whiz.