Board and Card Games

Discussion in 'Other Games' started by Blind Piper, Jan 29, 2012.

1. Blind Piper

Blind Piper Member

Anyone into any good board games? Do you generally prefer Euro or American games? I'm an avid co-op boardgamer with an emphasis on American games, personally. Case in point, Arkham Horror takes up a sizable section on my gaming shelf. Although, I'd be very pleased if Space Alert hit the table more frequently. As for competitive games, I've been playing Magic: the Gathering since about 2001 and I get to shuffle up about two hours per week.

How about you?

2. dbaumgart

dbaumgart Art Director Staff Member

Gaslamp Games has gotten together and played Arkham Horror in the office "for research purposes" on occasion. That's some good fun, though I think Yog Sothoth beat us senseless while Daniel knifed some peasant on the Plateau of Leng and I think I got driven mad by some trees whispering at me. When Nicholas gets excited he starts talking in the voice of his character and whenever something eldritch happens he makes eldritch noises (-- think of the ambient portal noise mixed with the vore/shalrath from Quake 1 mixed with the 'ethereal' attack sound from Dredmor. Yeah.)
    ... man, we gotta do another game of that.

I've also been known to play MtG. Got really into them when I was a kid then played off-and-on randomly ever since, though stopped buying cards. Good fun, that. I think my favourite colour is blue.

Psiweapon and blob like this.
  3. Teslacrashed

Teslacrashed Member

Resident Evil: Deck Building Game is a LOT of fun.

It's deck building because everyone starts off with the same 10 cards in their "deck" and then you have to choose what cards from the resource pile to add to your deck. then you want to remove weaker cards as you upgrade to bigger/better cards. A lot of fun stategy goes on. Bigger guns? or do you go for more card drawing? Should I look for a zombie to kill?

4. Aquaman

Aquaman Member