Another NTTG question

Discussion in 'Dungeons of Dredmor General' started by Waervyn, Oct 2, 2012.

1. Waervyn

Waervyn Member

Hey all!

After a bit of a break I started playing DoD again and completely fell in love again (I guess that's why I'm typing this from work...horrible how this game can keep your mind occupied) .

So yesterday I decided to make a clockwork knight (Clockwork knight, tinkering, axes, dual wielding, smithing, demonology for the circle and archery). Unfortunately I died at around level 4, as I was exploring the wizardlanes and got killed by 2 evil drones that spawned when I pulled a lever (didn't have much resistances yet, even though I was superhappy that I just found a steel cuiras, so I could finally start crafting my Clockwork armour...boohoo!).

I noticed however, that the game was taking quite long...not that I mind long gaming sessions, but when you have to do it all over again all the time (I have to start being less reckless), no time to grind gets a lot of appeal.

I read however that there's a problem with NTTG in that there's less loot.

I was thinking of making another crafting build, so now my question is: 'I know that there's less loot and NTTG is worse for crafting builds...but how bad is it really? Do you find yourself struggling a lot to find materials/recipe's, or is it really not that bad (just worse than in normal)?

Thanks a lot for your time! Hope my question is clear!

Waervyn

2. Rakankrad

Rakankrad Member

One thing I do when I play a crafter build is to pick up Perception. I mostly just play NTTG these days and I really started loving that skill.

3. Nikolai

Nikolai Member

One of the common problems faced with NTTG is the sparsity of crafting ingredients stemming from less loot. Yes, this is a problem for crafters, I think. Perception is practically required to compensate for this if you're running a build that depends on being able to craft gear.