How does the expansion pack(s) work?

Discussion in 'You Have To Name The Expansion Pack' started by Average Joe, Aug 3, 2012.

1. Average Joe

Average Joe Member

I've got DoD on Steam.

If I download any of the expansion packs, how does this new content interact with the game? I mean, do I get to choose which content to play with? Or does it just go ahead and change/delete/add things and there's no going back?

2. Frelus

Frelus Member

It is automatically installed, and I have no knowledge of any way to deactivate it.
    Not that I want, anyway.

3. Kazeto

Kazeto Member

You can remove expansion packs you don't want by deleting appropriate folders in game's folder ("expansion", "expansion2", etc.). Keep in mind that deleting an earlier expansion while leaving a later one might result in unseemly things happening to the game, and that moving rather than deleting is a better option unless you know it'll work and are sure you want it.

4. Average Joe

Average Joe Member

I see, thank you. I guess I can always delete and reinstall just the original game, too.

Is there a list in the game of what has changed with each expansion pack?

5. Lucentdepths

Lucentdepths Member

just rename the folders so they're still there but the program wont see them. No moving required. You will also want to turn autoupdates off from steam so it doesn't see the missing files and redownload them.

I'd just change the names from like Expansion and Expansion2 to Off-Expansion and Off-Expansion2

When you want to enable them again, remove the Off- from the name.

6. SkyMuffin

SkyMuffin Member

From what I can remember (in order they were released):

Realm of the Diggle Gods
    • Big Game Hunter, Emomancy, Werediggle Curse, Killer Vegan, Piracy, and Demonologist skill trees.
    • Option for a longer dungeon (5 more floors) can be toggled on or off at game creation. I think this affects some item drops, but there are also extra items included anyway for earlier floors.