Steam Workshop Woes

Discussion in 'Modding' started by r_b_bergstrom, Jun 6, 2012.

1. Lorrelian

Lorrelian Member

A good rule of thumb for 97% of life.

Kazeto likes this.
  2. Kazeto

Kazeto Member

The best way to learn is to simply take a look at what other people have created, and try, possibly asking others to troubleshoot whatever your mind created. There are no other ways, because whatever you could've done, it's the experience that counts the most.

Many modders here begun their adventure with coding when they tried to create their first mods for this game. I'm one of the few exceptions as I'm a programmer by trade (not that it matters there), even if I work as a cashier (but then again, I'm lazy as all heck and I don't have much time to code stuff either way, so an hour of commute versus five minutes was the deciding factor here), and I can tell you by looking at code written by other modders that I got no advantage from that, because they quickly learned the various quirks in the code. In fact, not having your mind tainted with the official manuals can help there, because the code isn't difficult and if you attempt to do something without knowing that it's supposed to be impossible, you might be able to find a roundabout way to do it.

Quote for truth.

OmniNegro likes this.
  3. DragonDai

DragonDai Member

You have really all given me a lot of confidence about the whole modding thing. I mostly just worried that anything I did would just end out being far too derivative of someone else's work, but I have really wanted to get into modding (in general) for a while, and I think this might be the right place to start. :)

4. Kazeto

Kazeto Member

Don't worry about it. If we get two skills that are similar but not the same, then it only serves to increase the variety.