"I've played this game ____ many hours, and I'm still a noob!" moments

Discussion in 'Dungeons of Dredmor General' started by SkyMuffin, Apr 11, 2012.

1. SkyMuffin

SkyMuffin Member

Because Dredmor has such huge gobloads of content, I bet lots of people still have moments like this-- when you realize that even though you've played forever and ever, you're still kind of a noob.

For me (total 205 hours):
    • Playing 70 hours before I finally started trying Tinkering and Crossbows. Yes, I spent 70 hours not doing ranged weapons at all haha. How I survived I have no idea.
    • Taking 100 hours to beat Dredmor for the first time (Dwarven Moderation, no Permadeath, at least 50 deaths).
    • After playing 130 hours, discovering that Mud Wrens are used for a brewing recipe, and are not just there to troll you with a debuff.
    • After playing 160 hours, discovering that wands can be sold for the same price no matter how many charges.
    • I have still not even touched Mathemagic.
    • I never played Going Rogue seriously until 150 hours. Newfound respect for this game now.
    • Always: getting Wizard's Sleeves with awesome stats and still getting mad about it. :(

Marak likes this.
  2. Stryke

Stryke Member

With about 200 hours logged I`ve never got below level 9 on medium and level 5 on hard then I do insist on always playing on permadeath and usually random skills to.

Only yesterday did I realise how distructable walls work, so much loot missed...

Also only worked out very recently how unbelievably useful a pair of Tinkerers goggles can be to a character with no crafting skills.

SkyMuffin likes this.
  3. Marak

Marak Member

Is it scary that if I made a list like this, it would be almost identical to yours? I mean seriously, after each bullet point I'm thinking, "Oh, you too?"

SkyMuffin likes this.
  4. HowlingLotus

HowlingLotus Member