inventory solution: a "pit" where items can be dumped to instantly sell

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by SkyMuffin, Mar 30, 2012.

1. Glazed

Glazed Member

I do have that installed, and I'm playing NTTG right now. I'm only a couple of levels down, so I haven't noticed a difference in store frequency. I'll keep an eye out.

2. Loerwyn

Loerwyn Member

'fore I start, it's she ;)

As I've said before, I'm not a game developer. I don't invest my time and money into making games, making mods, so on and so forth. But general consensus amongst developers, from my perspective, is that everything has to be balanced, whether it's large or small.

To use Torchlight again as an example; the balance takes the form of losing your pet for however long (I believe the further down you go, the longer your pet is away), so whilst you can just go get a cup of tea and wait for him to come back, you've still taken a somewhat artificial 'nerf' to your character in that your combat abilities have been reduced. If you push on without your pet, you're not going to be killing stuff as quickly.

Even Mass Effect had a sort of inventory sell feature, but it was definitely a trade-off. Do you sell your useless gear, or do you turn it into omni-gel? One path requires you to get to a store (there's one on the Normandy), the other can be done there but gives no financial gain, only a small quantity of a not-always-that-useful substance.

If you turn the DoD thing into a Risk:Reward situation, you have this. Selling from the inventory is no risk, ergo the reward (i.e. amount of Zorkmids) should be smaller. Trudging back to Brax is a risk (albeit a small one compared to the majority of the game), or even finding the nearest Brax if you've not discovered many, can be a risk, ergo the reward should be higher. How many times have you stumbled across a monster zoo when looking for Brax? I know I did it a few times yesterday, and I'm sure others have done it.